Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All children should be required to take a foreign language class from the time they start school until they begin university. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In my opinion, I agree with the statement “All children should be required to take a foreign language class from the time they start school until they begin university.”

First, in this modern globalisation era, we better to be able to speak more than one language. Therefore, the foreign language should be taught to children as early as possible. Because an expert once said that humans go through “the Golden Age” between zero until five years (0-5 years). This age means the most optimal development of intelligence. If the children learn a foreign language earlier, they will have skill to compete in global market. Furthermore, in this age children don’t have any involvement in big problems because they have nothing to worry about. So, they can more concentrate on their study and can learn new things more quickly than the adults. When we grow up, we have more concern about the future. It is a bit too late if we started to learn foreign language when we are adults.

Second, Indonesia is one example of non English based country. It is a plus value if someone can fluently speak or learn another languages besides Indonesian language. This skill is required to get decent job or pursue a higher education. For example, to entrance some of university in Indonesia, especially the good or top university, usually there are some admission to excelled in grammar and vocabulary. Not only the university, it is valid to get a job, especially in international or multinational company.

To conclude, I totally agree the idea of learning a foreign language since they start school. The chance to get more success is higher than the others who have not learn a foreign language. Later we are one step ahead to achieve the global market. By learning foreign language also can boost the brain to keep a positive activities during our childhood.