Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Going to university and getting education is a crucial experience in our life. Some people believe that studying history should be mandatory for all university students regardless of their major. However, in my opinion, students should be given a choice whether to study history or not. I believe that way because of several reasons which I will explore in my following essay.

The first reason why I think history classes are not a necessity for every student is because they are a waste of time. many college students do not have interest at all in history and they believe that they should invest their precious time in something more important. For example, years ago, when I was freshman in college, I was studying pharmacy as a major field and one of my mandatory classes was history. Even though history lessons were boring for me, I have no option but to take them. History tests were graded, and I needed to spend a huge amount of time trying to study hard for them. As a result of wasting time on history, I was falling behind in my other essential subjects like biochemistry and pharmacology. By the end of the year my overall scores were average. If taking history classes were not a must, I would have passed all my other subject’s tests with flying colors.

Another reason why studying history in college should be optional is that it costs a lot of money. University will pay for history classrooms, professors, project, along with other necessities. For instance, last month, my son Kareem, who is studying in Alannah university was quite upset because a new building with a cost of 500000$ was assigned to the history department despite the fact that students have no interest in it at all. He and his friends believe that university should allocate their resources for more beneficial facilities such as renovating its main library. Library staff are always shorthanded, and the air conditioning system was down for the whole past year.

These examples demonstrate that students should not be forced to take history classes at college. Not only because they are waste of time, but also, they waste university resources.