Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Although history is one of the subjects that we can learn a lot from, I personally believe that university and high education courses must contain more specific subjects which pertan students' major directly. I feel this way for three reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, almost in all countries history is on all schools curriculum and students learn about their own country history and world's history during their education at school. Thus there is no need to impose history subject on university students because they already learnt the important parts of it.

Plus, the people who choose to carry on their education at universities, chiefly want to become more proficient in their own major, therefore I believe that university must be a place to get enough education on subjects we want to learn to, not more detail of things we already learnt back at school. For instance, I remember the first semester I got at university in the major of electrical engineering, I got Persian literature as a mandatory course. I know that it is an essential lesson for all people who speak Persian, however, on the first semester for an engineering student it was too unnecessary and waste of time.

At last, there are some courses at university which are up to students to choose among the options university gives them. If someone is really in fond of a special topic, they can pick the one which is more suitable to their desires. University can simply give the option of history subjects to the students and let them opt it as their free course if they want to. To be more specific, it should not always be an obligation to push someone toward something, sometimes all it takes is to give people the authority to choose and a little bit of encouragement.

To conclude, I don't see any fair reason to force all majors' university students to pick history as a mandatory course, despite all the great lessons this subject contains. However, I believe it can be an optional course for those students who like to learn more.