A university has

money in its budget to do one thing to improve its facilities for students. It can either improve the

quality of the technology (for example computers and printers) that it provides for students or it

can redesign spaces where students hold club meetings and gather with friends in their spare time

to make these areas more comfortable and appealing. Which idea do you prefer and why?

There are certainly disparate ways for universities to spend their budgets. The wise way is to list the requirements based on priority and spend the money accordingly. From my standpoint, purchasing high technology facilities and replacing them with obsolete ones has higher priority in comparison with anything else.

To begin with, redecorating rooms and gathering spaces by university can have positive impact on the students who use those places; however, I don’t find it an imperative task plus there are so many other things with higher importance that need to be take care of first. Moreover, there are plenty of places that are much more appealing than university rooms for gathering and meetings outside the campus. If students care that much about the ambience of their meeting room, they can easily hold their meeting in one of those places with their own money. To me, the simple provided rooms by university seem adequate and there is no need of extra expenses for renovation or redecorating.

Secondly, universities are mostly known for their academic activities and the projects students conduct in there. These projects need specific facility and equipment. Providing the requisite technology for the sake of projects progress is one of the chiefly duty of universities, actually it is so important that is considered while rating universities. For instance, last semester while I was doing my project, I had to do some tests on various antennas and submit the results on my data set; I was working at antenna lab and there were some students from other universities who were doing some experiments there due to the lack of facilities in their own university.

In conclusion, at a prominent university nothing should precede the priority of academic projects and the technology they need to be conducted; thus a large amount of budget must be spent on them and if anything left it can be spent on other parts.