Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today’s world, people significantly pay attention to history and what we can learn from experiences of precedents. A controversial question that is often raised regarding this issue is whether history courses should be necessary for all university students. Some people possess the conviction that history plays a prominent role in recent and future of human beings and all people have to be to some extent expert at it, whereas other hold the opposite view and allege that students ought to learn specific courses that are relative to their majors. I personally contend that although the importance of history is undeniable, school students should have history courses and in the university people should merely learn courses related to their expertise. To substantiate my point of view, the following paragraphs represent a cursary glance at the most outstanding reasons.

The first reason coming to mind to elucidate my standpoint is concerned with this issue that the time of university students is limited and they cannot learn different subjects from various fields. In other words, undergraduate and graduate students have to spend their time to gain knowledge about their expertise. Provided that students have redundtant time, they sould get internship in companies or conduct research. I believe that history is of vital importance, however, in my opinion students should leran it at schools instead of universities. University is a place for students to become a professional in one field. In order to make more clear, consider my personal experience. When I was an undergraduate student in civil engineering, university decided to present a mandatory course about history and geography. Students were absolutely unpleasant and they objected to this decision. Therefore, university was obliged to remove this course from the curriculm.

The second rationale behind this issue is rooted in the fact that nowadays, by the advancement of technology, individuals have access to data. if someone wants to get information about a specific subject, he or she can find it only by searching the internet. In another word, in previous decades teachers were the only source of knowledge, thus, if anyone wants to have information, he should partcipate in the teacher’s class. In the modern era, this is not a case and people have several avenues to valuable information. The noteworthy statistics revealed by a recent research conducted in my country shows that, in the last decade of ninteenth century, approximately 70 percents of people took part in class to learn about a subject and others used libraries, on the contrary, in recent 10 years more than 90 percent tend to use the internet to get aware of various information.

In brief, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons one soon realizes that with respect to the importance of history, schools sould have present historical courses, however, in the university people should merely learn courses which are related to their expertise.