Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Although science and technology will continue to improve the most significant improvement for the quality of people s lives have already taken place

It has been argued that despite the continued advancement of science and technology, our live shave changed in a way that is more tremendous than ever. I, however, disagree.

First, environmental problems are still on the waiting list. Technology-dominated industrialization has generated many problems, such as global warming, acid rain and urban smog, all of which have given rise to a series of adverse effects—climate change, death of aquatic life and respiratory diseases. Although the quality of life has improved, there are still many things that could be improved in China, like safety and living conditions. If the most significant transformation in living standards has taken place, how is it possible that ecocide is still a real and ever-present danger?

Second, world peace still hangs by a thread. Take the Iraq War for example. It broke out eight years ago and since then Iraqis have been living in hell. Their homes are torched and destroyed and their families have been torn apart. It is certain that they have not received all the benefits of advanced technology. Superpowers are busy with nuclear experiments, but this advanced technology has brought anything but world peace. If the most significant transformation in living standards has taken place, how is it possible that some people on this planet are still in great agony?

Last, the pace of life is increasingly faster and shows no sign of slowing down. Undoubtedly,development in IT industries and communication devices has enabled people to enjoy more convenient lives. However, it is also the seemingly almighty technologies that have put people in suffering. Wherever you go, cell phones make it possible for your boss to spot you and give you more work, whether you like it or not.

Computers, which give companies the ability to teleconference and conduct online interviews, have turned our homes into a mere extension of our offices. If the most significant transformation in living standards has taken place, how is it possible that people now are still suffering from deprived sleep, unbalanced diet and strained family relations?

All in all, science and technology have been and will continue to develop, but the fundamental transformation of our lives has not yet taken place.