1 If you are required to give feedback about your classmates colleagues work or performance would you like to give positive comments or negative comments first

Feedback is a method for us to make us better by remembering what aspect in our work can be improved. My Boss always asks us employee to give feedback to each other. He requires us to give negative feedback FIRST, for we can get message briefly and can abstract information easily. However, I, strongly recommend that we should give both positive and negative feedback with positive first.

First of all, with positive feedback first, they can take the feedback more resultful. When we talk about their advantages, they will in a good mood. With such mood, they acknowledge that their efforts have been known, so they will know I have totally understand what they did. So, they are more likely to read through the whole feedback. Also, they are less likely to feel embarrassed when I talk about their weakness, instead, they might be grateful to me because we point out that their drawbacks and aspects for improvement. On the contrary, if we do not talk about their advantages first, they might not want to read the feedback at all, and our advise might be ignored totally.

In addition, we are more likely to avoid the same error when we get negative feedback later. That is because people tend to have a deep impression of the ending of a series of things, such as essay and feedback. If we compose a essay with wonderful ending, we usually get a higher score. Similarly, we can make a deep impression about what we gave in the feedback. According to a survey conducted by Nanjing University, about 80 percent participants can remember what the last paragraph means that they recent read. So, if we want to make our view more impressive, we should put it in the last paragraph. Further on, with such impressive negative feedback, they are more likely to remember what we advised in their feedback, and they are easily to avoid the same mistake.

In conclusion, although we can get quickly and briefly information in the feedback if we write the negative part first, we should bring the positive part to the front of the feedback. Not only it can be accepted by others easily, but also is a reminder to avoid making the same mistake that we already made.