Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Although science and technology will continue to improve, the most significant improvements for the quality of people’s lives have already taken place.

Although people now live in a time that science and technology are going to continue to develop. From my perspective, I do not think the most significant improvements for the quality of people’s lives have already happened for several reasons as following.

First of all, though the medical technologies have improved, the possibilities of people getting diseases have not decreased yet. There still are lots of diseases such as cancer and AIDS which can make people die within a short time due to the limited medical technologies. Plenty of people die all over the world because of these kinds of diseases everyday, which is very hurtful. In addition, there are a number of congenital diseases which cannot be noticed before birth. These poor babies cannot get any therapy until they are born. Therefore, it will waste a lot of time for these little babies to get healed. Even worse, some babies will even die before birth during this long period. We cannot image how sad their parents will feel. Accordingly, people’s lives do not have the most extraordinary improvements till now even though science and technology improve continuously.

Second, car as the production of the industrialization provides lots of carbon dioxide which pollutes the environment. Thus, the quality of people’s lives still has room to be improved. Nowadays, there are more and more cars in people’s lives. They pour carbon dioxide into the atmosphere so people have to wear special masks to protect themselves from getting sick. Recently, the air pollution is getting worse. In this case, increasing number of people get lung cancer and some of them even die. Life is the first priority because people can do nothing without life. Car is very convenient for people in daily life. However, the condition of people’s lives do not get improved but become much worse. As a result, the most considerable improvements for the quality of people’s lives have not taken place.

Therefore, as the factors mentioned above, it is easy to draw the conclusion that it will take a long time for people to get the most significant developments for the quality of their lives. As the science and technology improved, I believe people can live better than ever someday.