Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In our contemporary world, with dramatic changes in social values, the traditional virtue of telling the truth under any circumstances in various kinds of relationships is increasingly doubted among the public. While many people believe honesty plays a vital role in maintaining healthy relationships, others think that telling the truth is not always the best policy to preserve the bond. I firmly hold the view that the positive effects of telling the truth are undeniable and worthy of support. In what follows, I will aptly substantiate my viewpoints.

A central argument for always telling the truth is the fact that honesty will create trustiness and lead to a long-lasting friendship. In our isolated society, which loneliness is a striking issue, everyone is striving for an honest, loyal, and trustworthy friend, who can be reliable and stand by her side in sadness and happiness along the life journey. Studies show that there is a significant and positive connection between telling the truth and a sense of confidence and trust between parties of friendship. To put in other words, without truthfulness, friendship content is undeniably meaningless and can’t last over a length of time. The best example to highlight the importance of being honest is my deep-rooted friendship with my intimate friend, with whom I have made friends since we were high school students. In all these years, with falls and rises, honesty has been the backbone of our relationship.

On the other hand, lying and even concealing a trivial truth can ruin the multi-year reputation in the less than a blink of an eye. In the competitive business world, which any tiniest mistake can jeopardize the position of the company in the market, adherence to the truth should be the first and foremost principle of every single contract, otherwise, the culprit company will face serious consequences. I remember when I was an intern at an insurance company, there was a client whose factory was destroyed in a fire accident. According to the contract, our company had to pay a great deal of money for all the damages. But to pay less our manager tried to manipulate the contract and broke the law. Afterward, the lawyer of the factory owner realized the scandal and accused our firm of the crime. Finally, our company not only got severe punishments for misdeeds but also did lose its validity among the insurance industry.

To wrap up, although there are some beliefs in support of not telling the whole truth, honesty is always appreciated under any conditions, due to maintain the long-run relationship and preserve its credibility.