Do you agree or disagree with the following statement At universities and colleges sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support Use specific reasons and examples to support your ans

In our competitive world, it is a challenging issue for university administrators to decide how and to what extent they should allocate their financial resources. While many people believe that the university’s budget should be spent only on the educational aspects such as classes and libraries, others strongly assume that non-educational matters such as sports and social activities are also noteworthy and should be equally supported. I firmly agree with the idea of equality in the allocated budget to both sides for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

A central argument for supporting non-academic programs is the truth that universities are responsible for triggering students’ hidden talents. The university should provide an environment for students to discover themselves and find their inert genius by presenting various programs in different fields. To illustrate, activities such as football competences, art exhibitions, musical performances can turn into significant platforms to find their innate abilities. For example, when I was an undergraduate student in a computer engineering major, I had a chance to meet a prominent entrepreneur in a job fair, which holds by the university. That meeting motivates me to study business major in graduate school and run my startup, which dramatically affects my brilliant career path. As a result, investing in non-academic affairs can provide an opportunity for students to figure out their natural abilities and enhance their communicational circles, which can be well paid in the future.

Another reason which springs to mind is that university as a multi-faceted place should provide conditions in which students can improve their social skills. Entering the university is the beginning of the life-long journey of making new friends, increasing the scope of friendships, learning how to convey properly, and express the ideas freely. For instance, when I was a freshman at the university, I used to be shy, so not only had I difficulty in making friends but also talking in front of the class for presenting lectures was a nightmare for me. Fortunately, attending several communicational skill workshops at the university helped me to overcome my fear and anxiety while being among people. Also participating in the university’s gym and sports clubs led me to meet new people and make a strong relationship with them who are now my intimate friends. Consequently, investing in social affairs and sports events can play a significant role in the students’ social interactions and their future relations.

In conclusion, although there are some beliefs that universities’ priority must be assigned to educational purposes, social and physical activities are vital segments of this educational aim for the university’s responsibility in provoking dormant intelligence and enriching social networks.