Do you agree or disagree with the following statement For any business to be successful it must spend a lot of money on advertising

The fundamental importance of advertising keeps itself a permanent topic and recently people have even begun to ponder over the question whether advertising is an indispensable factor for any business to succeed. People are divided into two camps with opposite opinions during this discussion. There are still a lot of naysayers standing on the other side of the argument, insisting that some exceptions should be made. As far as I am concerned, this assertion is arbitrary and overgeneralized.

In my view, advertising pales in comparison to improving employees' quality of life, especially for multinational corporations with widespread brand awareness. As social development accelerates, people, especially white collar workers in conglomerates, face fierce competition. In order to ensure a decent life, they have to work hard, which places more pressure on them than before. A large number of illnesses are linked to stress, so they are likely to suffer from various health problems. Since employees with poor health have no choice but to waste a lot of time and money on improving their health, it goes without saying that they cannot devote themselves entirely to their work.

As a result, today's leading employers need to put more emphasis on their workers' physical and mental well-being instead of wasting resources on commercials that may not do much to develop brand loyalty in the first place. Second of all, most small businesses don't need to put much emphasis on advertisement either. This is because if these companies with a tight budget give a top priority to advertising, they may not have enough money to cover other expenses, such as salaries and product development, which may lead them to bankruptcy. My uncle is a telling example. The restaurant he opened in Beijing five years ago is still going strong. In the beginning, he put a great deal of emphasis on advertising and allocated many resources to promoting his restaurant online.

Despite his promotion bringing him some customers, he was unable to hire the best chef or pay the waiters competitive salaries. When the number of diners declined, my uncle decided to discontinue advertising. Instead, he devoted his resources to staff and food quality, which resulted in better food and happier employees. This resulted in an increase in customers at his restaurant. The example of my uncle illustrates that not all businesses place a high priority on advertising. Some individuals may still insist, despite my previous arguments, that advertising is the most critical factor in some cases, which is a justified opinion.

This fact does not undermine my argument. It is important to remember that just because a statement works well in some situations does not mean it holds true for all occasions. Rather than a panacea, advertising is the bane of some businesses.