Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To be successful in business, a company should spend more money on advertising.

Much ink has been spilled on whether a company should spend more money in order to succeed in business. Some people suggest that more money should go to advertisements because they are crucial for business. But I am totally against this idea. In my opinion, though advertisements are important, more money should be spent on parts which are more significant regarding to success in business.

For starters, admittedly, spending money on advertisements will help a company succeed in business. On the one hand, good advertisements are able to convey the most important aspects and advantages of a product to the public. And the information contained in a good advertisement will help people learn about the product in a short time and form a good first impression. On the other hand, good strategies in advertising will help attract people who are potential buyers and persuade them to buy the product. Take my experience for example, last year I happened to see an advertisement for HUAWEI P10 (a cell phone) on campus, which I have never known before. The advertisement emphasized on the extraordinary hardware the phone implements, such as CPU, RAM and cameras, and mentioned its outstanding performance. As a student majoring in electronic engineering, that advertisement did impress me a lot. I started to search

for more information about that phone on the Internet later and finally decided to buy it.

However, advertisements can hardly be the most important factor determining whether a company can succeed in business. The quality of a product is much more crucial for the company. Since the quality of a product is always the top concern of customers, a company should spend more money and time improving products’ performance rather than advertising. A good advertisement can only leave an impression on people in the first place, and without a commensurate quality, the advertisement will be regarded as a disingenuous exaggeration. Fancy advertisements may deceive consumers once, but losing trusts of consumers is going to do harm to a company’s business. In addition, the price of a product is also what customers care about a lot. If a company spends too much money on advertisement, its product’s price will definitely rise accordingly. Therefore, a company should consider that spending less money on advertisement and lowering the price of its product to attract more people to buy them.

To sum up, I totally disagree that a company should put more money on advertising, because advertising is not the most important factor in deciding whether a company will succeed.