Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The government should provide people with free college education.

Should the government offer all people free education? This issue has been widely discussed. Some people believe that the government should do that because the opportunities of receiving higher education for students from poor families are truly important. As a student from China, I don’t know exactly what other countries’ situations are like. Therefore, I can only speak for myself, based on my experience and thinking, I don’t think it’s a good idea for a government to provide people with free college education.

For starters, requiring the government to provide everyone with a free college education is totally impractical in my country. There are a lot of people who are willing to get a free college education. If people get a higher education for free, then all the fees, like the cost of facilities in universities and salaries of professors, will be paid solely by the government. And this requires for a huge amount of money which the government may not afford. Furthermore, even if the government has lots of money on people’s education, that money should be spent on scientific researches, such as inventing expensive high-tech equipment, rather than an average college education for everyone.

Some people may argue that the government should be responsible for its citizens’ higher education, because citizens’ education is crucial for a country’s development, and more people receiving higher education, more powerful the country will be. This idea seems plausible at first glance, however, it could hardly hold the water. There is no denying that people’s education level is important for a country, but it doesn’t mean that the government should offer a free college education for everyone. There actually exist better solutions. Many companies, who want graduating students from universities to work for them, are willing to offer scholarships to students from poor families, supporting them to study particular majors in universities. On the one hand, those students can get a higher education which their families may not afford. On the other hand, the companies ensure that they will constantly have people they need work for them. In this way, students and companies both benefit while the government doesn’t need to spend more money on education.

Hereby, I have made myself pretty clear: I totally disagree with the idea that the government should be responsible for people’s free college education.