Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today's modern world, thanks to these new technologies that become available for people, lives have been changed dramatically compared to the past. While some believe that with these quick changes, people feel sad and unsatisfied, others think otherwise. As far as I am concerned, I believe that people nowadays feel much happier and more satisfied with their lives than before. The reasons why I think so will be elaborated upon hereunder.

First of all, by these new changes, new and better technologies are available for people. Technologies are designed to make life much easier. People in the past had many issues in their lives. Sometimes they had problems providing their basic needs, such as water. For instance, in the past, people in my city had to dig wells in their yards or go to subterranean canals to gain water. Sometimes that water was not healthy, but they did not have any other choice. Also, they had to use oil lamps in the nights to provide light. On the other hand, nowadays, thanks to new technologies, people have permanent access to clean water and electricity. I believe when people think about what gift they possess these days, they feel really happy and grateful.

Second, thanks to now available online sources of information, people do not feel limited to the place they live. They can see what is going on in the world. Some use the internet to gain new opportunities and goals in life. Having new goals and ambitions give a spirit to life. People in the past were usually obliged to continue their parents' jobs because they did not know anything about other careers. In contrast, nowadays, people have access to wide information about almost any career in the world. For example, now a child who lives in a remote village does not have to be a farmer or pastoralist like his father. He or she can become an astronaut or whatever they want. The idea that they can improve in life and they are not limited makes people happy about their life.

In conclusion, with all this taken into account, I strongly believe that people nowadays feel more happiness and satisfaction in comparison to people in the past. They have access to new technologies that make their life more comfortable, and they can pursue their goals in life.