Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium — substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument states that due to a long-term study, people who have a dairy-rich diet are more likely to get osteoporosis. He/She claims that, in the study, those who consume more milk or other dairy products experience a higher rate of bone fracture. However, in order to appropriately evaluate the argument, a few questions must be answered.

First of all, what do they mean by stating that the study went on for a long time? Some may consider two years the long time and some 50 years. Moreover, exactly how many people participated in this study? For some studies, maybe twenty people are enough, and some require hundreds or even thousands of people. If the questions above will not be answered, the argument cannot hold water.

Furthermore, who were these people that participated in this study? In other words, which age group was more common among them, and what were their professions or hobbies. Maybe those who have dangerous jobs such as, firefighters, rescuers, or others, are consuming more dairy because they want to be more robust but they get more hurt due to the perils they face in their jobs. Also, maybe they were athletes such as fighters, rock climbers, and so on, that are more vulnerable to fractured bones. If these questions are not answered, one cannot rely on the study’s results.

Finally, do fractured bones mean osteoporosis? As it has been stated in the argument, osteoporosis is an illness that makes bones weak by age. Also, it is a factor of genetics too. Maybe those who break their bones are not old, or even they are young. So, until this question is not answered, the idea mentioned in the argument remains opaque.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the abovementioned questions, then it will be possible to properly evaluate the viability of the proposed conclusion.