Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

My family has a tradition of travelling to a new place every summer vacation. We have explored most of the provinces in China and some neighbour countries. Travelling itself gives us lots of fun but what I enjoy the most is the time we plan the trip together. This essay will elaborate on why I prefer not to travel with the tour guide.

The first reason for travelling by yourself is cost-effective. Though travel agency insists they offer the best price of transportation and accomendation, there are hidden price be tagged on the trip. When signing the contract with the travel agency, customers are not only paying for their trips but also pay for the tour guide, driver, the rents of the agency and website maintenance. Those extra bills do not exist when you travel on your own. Here is an example. After each time of the family trip, one thing I would love to do is "calculating" how much we saved. Our trips usually cost 30% less when compared with the most popular offer of that destination from the travel companies.

The second reason is that the travel agency can not always provide what you want. With the development of the internet, people have easy access to information about your destination online. We can carefully think about what we really like to pay a visit instead of drafting with the trend, taking whatever travel agency is boosting. For instance, when my family was planning a trip to Nanjing, most itinerary provided by travel agency include a day trip in a cemetery. However, we more interest in the local food. If we go with the tour group, we have to give up our favourite gourmet tasting because of the limitation of the time.

The third reason for do not join in a tour group is that it can be dangerous eating and sleeping with strangers. People are excited while travelling, which may make them lose their head and trust people easily. There is news of people getting deceived by the new "friends" they made from the tour group. Some of them lost money, belongings, some of them getting raped. On the other hand, travelling with people you know is more trustworthy and you can look out for each other.

In conclusion, travel with group guide, in my opinion, does not worth the price, may not fit your appetite and even sometimes be risky. Thus, it is much better to make your own itinerary with families or friends and leave more precious memories with them.