Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Reading fiction (such as novels and short stories) is more enjoyable than watching movies. Use specific reasons and examples to explain your position.

When I was 12 years old, I was addicted to the novel Harry Potter. Fantastic magic world and the vivid characters attract me to read the books over and over again. However, when the movie came out and became viral worldwide, I did not feel the same attraction as the novel gave to me. This essay will explore why I believe reading fiction provides people with more enjoyment by giving some reasons for my opinion.

First, if the movies are filmed based on the novels, comparing with watching movies, reading the original books allows readers to experience additional layers of pleasure. While the Harry Potters movies a huge hit of the box office, some fans of the Harry Potter books found movies disappointed. Deletion due to the restriction of the movies' time length is the main blame. Some characters were changed into a paper man serving merely as a promotor of the plot. For example, a lot of plots of "Small Uranus" were ignored when producing the movie, which turns the man with complicated feelings into a "revenging tool". On the other hand, books with unlimited paragraph can build characters more complete, which contribute to the logical development of the plot and finally help readers have a deeper understanding of the structure flow behind the story. With better comprehension, readers can not only experience excitement as the movie-goers but also allowed to taste each feeling line thoroughly.

Furthermore, if the movie is original, reading fiction can give readers a longer and more immersive experience of the wonderland than the 2 hours long movies. Movies are so-called fast food in the cultural industry, which well depicts the role of most movies--offering temporary pleasure by presenting artificial humour. Audiences laugh hard in the cinema and go home with nothing left. On the contrary, readers of the fictions can enjoy it much longer by perusing the book again and again with fresh thoughts every time. Though there are some good movies with high quality that offer more than a popcorn movie, not all audiences can appreciate them. Books, in contrast, have an immersive nature to all the readers.

In conclusion, in order to have more fun during leisure time, reading fiction is more preferable than watching movies.