Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the busy and crowded world, we should not expect people to be polite to each other.

In this day and age, people around the world are leading a hectic life, due to the advancement of technology and the globalization of the economy. It is suggested that nowadays people are too busy to be polite. However, I disagree with such opnion. From my point of view, politeness is still a beneficial manner which should be expected in various occasions.

To begin with, politeness helps enhance the efficiency of business communications. When it comes to correspendence among trading corporations, usually a multitude of workers are involved in a single project. And most of them are not quite familiar with each other. Therefore, politeness plays a pivotal role in achieving and maintaint a good relationship, which is crucial to the success of the project goal. For instance, whenever an employee send an email dicussing the project, there are always greetings at the bottom of the text, such as “ best regards” and “hope you are well”. These kind words express a friendly attitude, which facilitates the cooperation.

Moreover, politeness is imperative for the service industry, as it attracts customers. This point can be illustrated by the example of Starbucks. We all know that Starbucks are always crowded with custermors. And sometimes the waiting line can be too long for the staff to handle. Nonetheless, the waiters or waitress are always smiling to the customers, considerately remebering every name of them, so that consumers will feel respected and cheerful. As a result, consumers are inclined to enjoy coffee at starbucks, regardless the crowded environment. This is key to Starbucks’ success.

Granted, rudeness can be seen in many situations. For example, on the Internet, many people are expressing their anger or disappointent toward others. And it is easy for us to feel offended. But after all, this is not the whole picture of the society.

Based on the above dicussion, I am fully convinced that politeness is still essential to the modern society, and it can be expected with no doubt.