Do you agree or disagree governments have done enough to educate the people the importance of the good nutrition and healthy eating.

With the incidence of obesity hovering at high levels, people are getting alarmed and disturbed. It is suggested that the government should be blamed for not contributing enough effort in the education of nutrition and healthy eating. I totally disagree with such accusation against the government.

Basically, the government can exert its influence on people’s eating habits through two ways,i.e., mass media and schooling. From my perspective, the government has done its best in utilizing these two channels.

With regard to the media, we have been constantly receiving messages about how to achieve and maintain a healthy lifestyle from multiple sources including the television, the newspapers and the Internet. One example is the documentary shot by Chinese government, called A Bite of China, which is very popular and successfully promotes the idea of eating healthy food to the public. Another instance is the official site of the ministry of health, which offers a great amount of useful information concerning healthy diets and nutrition. Hence, individuals have already been provided with easy access to the knowledge of healthy eating.

Moreover, educational institutions throughout the country have placed a premium on students’ physical health. Remember what we have heard most from our primary school teachers? “An apple a day keeps the doctor away”. Our teachers’ patience and constant advice truly contributes a lot to our eating habits. What’s more, the idea of healthy eating has been incorporated into most textbooks so that children can understand the harm of junk food and the importance of nutrition. Some schools even add the healthy eating classes into its curriculum. All these actions are either encouraged or guided by the government.

So why the situation of obesity keeps on deteriorating? The problem is that people tend to ignore the message of healthy eating. This point can be illustrated by the example of cigarettes. Healthy warnings on the packages of cigarettes, such as “smoking kills”, are unlikely to make a difference to smokers. By the same token, neither the media campaign nor the school courses can be effective to the public. Nowadays we have easy access to a variety of foods, and nobody can force us to make the healthy choices if we refuse to do so. We all know that high-fat and high-calorie food is unwholesome to our body, but some of us still cannot refrain from stuffing their face. That’s why so many people is subject to obesity and numerous other diseases such as high blood pressure and heart attacks.

Based on the above discussion, I am fully convinced that our government has already done a good job spreading the healthy eating ideas, considering its efforts in mass media and education. However, at the end of the day, we should be responsible for our own health problems. If we don’t take care of ourselves, no one can.