Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children rely too much on technology like computers, smart phones, and video games for fun and entertainment. Playing simpler toys or playing outside with friends would be better for children’s development.

Although traditional toys and outdoor group activities do bring benefits to children’s development, it’s hard to say they are better than new technology in terms of children’s growth. We live in a world where countries are intertwined with each other by new technology. Computers, smart phone and video games have already become an essential part of everybody’s daily life, let alone children’s.

Without close observation, one will easily draw the conclusion that children are addicted to these technologies for fun and entertainment. In fact, children learn more knowledge than the previous generations through fun. I can still remember how shocked I was when I visited my cousin’s home. My niece has been struggling with her Math since an early age, her mother tried all possible means, including toys designed to help with Math. To her disappointment, neither tradition Chinese Math toys can help nor can the latest American best-selling toys can make a difference. I was asked to tutor her last week. The moment I got their home, I saw my niece playing Minecraft, a phenomenal video games. I was about to lose my temper when I saw her chat with her online friends. They were discussing a complicated geometry problem, the solution of which will be used in their Minecraft city. When my niece completed the virtual city, I realized she wouldn’t need my help in geometry. Later I learned her Math improved dramatically.

As to outdoor group activities, much of its value derives from teamwork and social skills. Cooperation doesn’t need to be learned through special events and lessons, it’s written in our genes. Through the process of evolution, our ancestors didn’t have teachers and outdoor group activities to teach them how to socialize and cooperate, they managed to master these skills through real-life events. Children’s time should be allocated to activities that help them find who they are and what they want. With the pandemic bringing tens of hundreds of deaths everyday, outdoor activities actually pose great threat to public health. It’s not wise to waste time on things that may bring potential dangers to ourselves.