Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children rely too much on technology like computers, smart phones, and video games for fun and entertainment. Playing simpler toys or playing outside with friends would be better for children’s development.

The advancement of science and technology exerts profound influence on today’s life, which brings great convenience and amusement to us. However, the phenomenon that kids nowadays depend too much on the technology cannot be ignored, owing to the fact that addiction to technology may negatively affect their growth and development. It is reasonable to claim that there are more meaningful things for kids to do in their spare time, such as playing outside with friends of the same age as well as enjoying the simpler toys.

To begin with, children’s addiction to technology, especially being indulged in playing computer games, would do great harm to their health. It is not uncommon that many kids spend too much time playing computer games and then stay up late until midnight, which will inevitably influence their physical health. Long-time lack of sleep would make them feel sleepy frequently and cause them to be unable to concentrate on their studies. Also, researches have shown that those with inadequate sleep would be more likely to get irritated and commit unfriendly behaviors to others. So it is advisable that kids spend limited time on playing online games since indulgence would affect their studies, their interpersonal relationships with others as well as their health.

Additionally, devoting themselves exceedingly to technology such as smartphones and computers, which are filled with drug abuse, violence and crimes of the same kind, would inhibit the cultivation of a mentally healthy kid. As we all know, kids enjoy watching various videos and also cartoons on those electronic devices, while many of them contain inappropriate information that publicize some incorrect concepts. For example, in one of the most well-known cartoon series produced in our country, called a Happy Goat and an Evil Wolf, the wolf would constantly attempt to kill and eat the goats, while after failing, the wolf would come back in a second episode to make similar attempts again. In this case, the TV series seem to convey to the pupils that animals are eternal.

The bad effects that addiction to technology imposes on children’s physical and mental health should arouse parents’ alertness and concern, which should also provoke adults to adopt a more sensible way to help manage kids’ free time. To put it simply, motivate your kids to play with simpler while amusing toys and hang out with friends of the same age.