Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children rely too much on technology, like computers, smart phones, video games for fun and entertainment. Playing simpler toys or playing outside with friends would be better for children’s development.

Without any shadow of doubt, technology plays a prominent role in people’s lives. No one can deny the significant role of this phenomena in our privet lives. Although some people might adhere to the idea that using technological objects such as computers, video games and smartphones cause no problems for children, others possess the conviction that it is required for children to go outside and spend more time with their friends as a way of being entertained. As far as I am concerned, playing simpler or hanging out with friends is a much more effective way for children’s developments. I will elaborate on my reasons through the following paragraphs.

To start with, one should take into account that childhood is a crucial period of human’s life. The way that people will act, behave and think in the future, is directly affected by the intellectual nourishments they get in younghood. A myriad of skills develop during this period of time: for instance, social skills such as how to make friends, experience different feelings like happiness and sadness, the way they should grow the sense of empathy for others, and deal with their own disappointments. Not only does being dependent on smartphones and video games keep the children in a secluded mind condition, but it also stops them to care for others in their lives. They will be deprived of having the experience to be connected to their friends and families.

Another noteworthy reason I would like to mention is that spending a lot of time playing with technological gadgets like virtual reality glasses, video games, online games, and computers could have negative effects on children’s health conditions. It is not far from the imagination that by just sitting behind a desk and having no physical activity, obtaining weight is inevitable. Being obesity leads to problems such as diabetes, high blood pressure, and other kinds of diseases. Take a personal experience as an example. My youngest brother was only six years old, spending a lot of time playing online games via a smartphone. After a while, I realized that he cannot even walk in an appropriate way. He had gained too many weight, but he refused to join us at the dinner table. Fortunately, my parents took an action introducing him to a therapist and medical doctor. They helped my brother to get back on the track. Had my parents not done anything, he probably was really sick today.

Taking everything into account, I am of the view that it is harmful to children to only deal with technology for having fun because of the undesirable influence it has on developing social skills and health conditions. I highly recommend to the parents who have children in their houses to be more sensitive about the ways that their children are spending time. Being relied on technological inventions should ring the bell for them to be more cautious about the development process of young people.