Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children should begin learning a foreign language as soon as they start school. Use specific and examples to support your position.

Nowadays, globalization has implied a powerful connection between different nations around the world. This has promoted the learning of different languages for better interaction among individuals. Now, the question is when a person should start to learn a new language. I think as early as possible, that is why I agree with the idea that children should begin studying a foreign language when they start attending school.

First of all, there is strong scientific evidence that proves that a new language is better assimilated at early ages. Children have an incredible ability to adapt their tongues to pronounce some words in a more natural way because they do not have a well-developed accent. For instance, if you compare the learning process of two native Spanish speakers learning French, one five-year-old and another who is twelve-year-old, after five years the former will have created a stronger and more natural development of the French language than the latter. And when they both are in their twenties it is likely that you can identify who began learning French earlier, mainly because of the accent and pronunciation, despite the fact that both may have excellent grammar and vocabulary.

Second, it is easier to teach a foreign language to younger kids because they have more fun learning it while older kids see this process as more distant and unpleasant. My younger brother and a cousin may be a compelling example of this. My brother who is twelve years old is just starting to learn English at school and does not enjoy it because he thinks it is too difficult since he has never been exposed to the language before. On the other hand, a cousin of mine, who is seven years old, is studying in a private English school and has been studying this language for over two years. Although he does not know advanced vocabulary words, his fluency and pronunciation are impressive. I honestly think that after two years of studying English my brother will not reach my cousin’s English level.

In summary, I believe that foreign languages have to be taught as early as possible in schools due to the advantages in the learning process that it implies.