If you could make one important change in a school that you attended, what change would you make? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

During my life, I have attended many schools. In this essay, I will be focused on the last high school I attended, called Saint John’s School, located in San Pedro de la Paz, Chile. If I could change something about it, I would add a soccer field of natural grass and more green areas to the schoolyard.

I believe that any school, where many children and teenagers go to learn, needs spaces with nature: trees, green grass, and plants. The school that I attended was very good in general. It provided high-quality education, at least, for Chilean standards because their students always had good results in academic examinations made by public institutions of the Chilean government. The school’s infrastructure was good too. However, I perceived a lack of space for green areas. It had just a few square meters of green grass in two tiny yards. It was ironic because Saint John’s School’s slogan was "Tradition, Nature, Excellence," but there was almost no nature in it. I would have liked to have beautiful gardens with playgrounds to enjoy my breaks playing, seeing plants, and lying on the grass.

Research has demonstrated that schools with more green areas are more pleasant for students since they perceive these places as less stressful than those lacking plants. To be specific, if I added gardens with plants and flowers, I am sure that students would be cheerful due to the change since they could enjoy more their breaks by taking pictures in those places, or would enjoy the sight better.

Furthermore, we did not have a football pitch made of green grass. There were three fields to play soccer, volleyball, basketball, or to practice other sports. Nevertheless, none of them was like a real soccer field. Of course, this was awful for students who craved for playing football on a real field. Personally speaking, I do not like playing this sport; notwithstanding, I had to practice it because it was a requirement of the physical education subject. I would have liked better to play on grass rather than on a concrete football pitch because in the case that I had stumbled, it would not have been so painful.

In summary, the change I would make to my high school it would be to add more green areas, including a soccer pitch of natural grass for students to be more comfortable and could enjoy their breaks with a nicer view.