Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children should begin learning a foreign language as soon as they start school. Use specific reasons and examples to support your position.

In today's cosmopolitan and progressive world, learning to speak a foreign language is essential. Whether we want to study an original textbook or travel to another country, we need to learn a new language. Therefore, some people assert that children should start learning a foreign language as soon as possible. Nevertheless, in my view this idea is fallacious. I believe, learning a new language at an early age would waste both students and their teacher's time. In the ensuing paragraphs, I will elaborate more on my reasons for holding this opinion.

First and foremost, choosing a foreign language is a difficult task for children at an early age. Children usually do not have a correct and comprehensive understanding of the world around them. Consequently, they are not informed enough to decide to learn which foreign language is more beneficial for them. For example, in my middle school, all of the students were required to take a foreign language course. Not knowing which language is more suitable for me, I decided to study french randomly. However, when I graduated and contemplated my future plans, I realized an Asian language, such as Japanese or Chinese, would have been more functional for me. I failed to make an intelligent decision at that young age. Therefore, I do not concur that a primary school student will be able to make a correct decision either. I learned from this experience that one must not start learning a new language without any insight into one's future decision randomly.

Another point to mention is that students might not be able to develop a comprehensive understanding of the language. To be more specific, teachers are usually the students of this language, not the native speakers. In like manner, other classmates have not experienced speaking this language before. Consequently, the process of learning for the students is slow and inefficient as well as erroneous. The example of my coworker can cogently illustrate my point. He decided to study Korean after graduating from university, and instead of attending language classes, he directly applied for jobs in Korea and succeded to find one. After two years, when he returned to America, I met him and realized he could speak Korean fluently. He would not have been able to learn Korean so well if he had not travelled and lived there, surrounding himself with native Korean speakers. The other students who have learned a new language in a school do not have a comparable skill in speaking. As can be seen, learning a second language in school is proved not to be efficacious; travelling abroad and learning the language in the native country is far better.

In conclusion, although speaking a second language is indisputably important for individuals, starting learning the language as soon as possible is not essential. Doing so wastes students' time unnecessarily as neither do they possess adequate decision-making abilities nor will they learn it effectively enough in their own home country. Students should all plan well before starting learning a new language as this skill demands huge amounts of time and effort.