In general, people are living longer now. Discuss the causes of thisphenomenon. Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay.

Numerous major changes have occurred in the modern era, one of which is an increase in people's life span. There are several factors that contribute to this improvement. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate more on two of the most significant reasons for this phenomenon.

First and foremost, our healthcare system is constantly improving. Many doctors, researchers and engineers continuously strive to develop more efficacious medicine, healing methods and laboratory apparatus. The more the technology upgrades, the more sophisticated and comprehensive such medications, machinery and techniques become. While people died even due to a simple infection in the past, many ailing people now have a chance to be cured even of the most serious diseases, thanks to such a vast amelioration in treatment methods and drugs. For instance, the result of a research published in Nature magazine in March 2017 indicated that scientists have discovered a medicine that can eliminate AIDS, which was previously considered incurable. Now the lives of millions of people are saved due to this new innovation. Thus, it goes without saying that innovative health care methods have helped people to enjoy a longer life.

The second important contributing factor to the general increase in people's lifespan is the changes in their lifestyle. Nowadays, people take better care of themselves and enjoy more comfort than they did in the past. Life, in general, has become much easier. For instance, in the past, people were forced to undergo arduous tasks and chores such as cultivating the crops for food, bringing water from rivers, and building their own houses with minimum tools and assistance. In contrast, now the advances in technology have made life more convenient than before. In addition, in recent years, governments have obliged companies to provide more holidays for their workers. Thus, people have more opportunities to travel or focus on leisure activities to release their stresses and relax. Now people have less demanding jobs, and after their work hours, they can spend time on their hobbies. Many people go to the gym, play sports, meet with their friends, etc. All of these factors help people to be healthier both physically and psychologically. Research shows that such changes in lifestyle have dramatic changes in people's lifespan.

In conclusion, many factors have played a role in the augmentation of people's lifespan. Nowadays, not only people enjoy better health care and medication, but they also have a more convenient life than in the past. We should expect this trend to continue as new advances in technology can enhance our lives even more than we can imagine in future.