Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children these days behave more impolitely than children fifty years ago.

Some people claim that children nowadays are acting more terribly than children fifty years ago, while others think the opposite. As for me, I believe that children these days are behaving badly due to three reasons mentioned below.

To begin with, children nowadays are taught the importance of critical thinking, so they will act more rudely than children in the past. To be more specific, my niece once shouted at my aunt for forcing him to wear female uniforms to school because she considered herself to be a man. Similarly, my nephew also refused to wear uniforms because he supposed that wearing uniforms violates freedom of expression. As a result, my uncle and aunt always complain to me that their kids are recalcitrant. On the other hand, children in the past are educated to obey authorities, so my father could not criticize his school for forcing everyone to wear the same clothes to school. Evidently, children these days think more critically than kids in the past.

In addition, children today care more about their self-esteem, which means that they would act impolitely to defend their ego. Take my professor's son as an example. My professor's son once got a C on his math final exam, and my professor scolded him for not studying hard. Nonetheless, his son broke down and yelled back at his parents for portraying him as an unintelligent person. Moreover, he even questioned whether his parents like him or not. Contrarily, my grandfather always condemned my father for getting A- on his English test, but my father ignored my grandfather's criticism all the time because he regarded the condemnation as unimportant. Indeed, kids nowadays focus more on their self-confidence than those who were born in the 1970s.

Last but not least, children these days go under more pressure than their parents did, so modern kids will undoubtedly act more discourteously than children in the past. To elaborate, my country's education system is getting stricter and stricter. Thus, modern children are prone to behave more unmannerly because of the unstoppable pressure put on them. For instance, my friend's daughter needs to spend seven to eight hours per day doing homework. Not only that, she must waste her whole weekend preparing for math, English, and science exams every two weeks. Therefore, she behaves aggressively towards everyone due to her unstable mental status. Contrarily, my father only needed to study two to three hours every day during his middle school time. Accordingly, he had healthier mental health when he was young, so he never threw a tantrum to my grandparents for once. Conspicuously, one of the reasons why children today behave imprudently is that they are under enormous pressure.

In conclusion, I maintain that children these days indeed behave more horribly than children years ago. After all, kids these days are able to think more critically and care more about their own reputation. Besides, it is apparent that Gen-Z kids undergo immeasurable pressure compared to Baby Boomers.