Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: Cooperative ability is more important than leadership in today’s world?

As the old saying goes, none of us is as smart as all of us. In our today's vigorous world, it takes numerous talents to yield exceptional far-reaching success rather than limited super leaders. The age of the one and only mighty leader is far gone. In my opinion, I reckon that being capable of a cooperative work style is, indeed, far more beneficial than being a leader for two reasons.

First and foremost, diversified skills are crucially necessary for a contemporary business to solve obstacles that they might face. For instance, last year, my company Novartis Pharma faced a steep decline in sales volume in the first quarter, and the competition was increasing its market share. Although all my sales teammates worked independently as diligence as we could, neither I, as a sales manager nor any of my coworkers, were able to get near enough of the target sales' goal. The CEO held a meeting; therefore, we all shared our perspectives, which collectively highlighted weak and powerful points that enabled us to visualize the panoramic picture of the crisis. The marketing manager suggested a promotion plan, the purchasing department built on it, and the CFO approved. We organized a well-articulated action plan. Ultimately, we achieved unprecedented sales figures by the end of that year. As you can see, I, like other managers, cannot accomplish success and tackle problems unless we share our skills and work cooperatively.

Another potentially significant reason is the higher likelihood that the collaborative work model builds competencies and leaders of the future. Take Steve Jobs, for example, the founder of Apple, who created his formidable company not solely on the base of his genius character, but also on the contribution of highly skilled talented people. Apple is an incredibly collaborative company. He did have a strong faith in the teamwork setting throughout his company and that every team has his specialized field where they can make their own decisions not according to the hierarchy, yet the best idea wins. After he had died, the experts of Apple joined hands to make it even more thriving and progressing. If it had not for the collaboration of teamwork leaders, Apple would have fallen apart after the death of Steven Jobs.

In conclusion, I believe it is better to be cooperative rather than to be a leader; otherwise, you would not be able to defeat crises you might encounter or make leaders for the future.