Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site.

The new technologies sometimes bring new problems to different areas and also education. It raises the question that is it a more difficult task today than it was in the past. I hold the belief that it becomes a tougher task since the children spend too many times on the new technology.

Because of the development of the technology, the children in the modern society can easily get the information through the internet, so they can use it to challenge the teacher on the class, which makes the education become a more difficult task now. Take my sister's son for example. He is an elementary student now and is curious about nature. So in the school, when the teacher teaches the subject such as how the earth formed or the water cycle, he will use his smartphone to search the information about that subject in the whole class. And if he finds something different from what the teacher is telling, he will raise the hand up to ask the question. Because he keeps asking the questions to challenge the textbooks and disturbing the teachers' lectures, the teacher always feels angry and puncture my sister's son. On the contrary, in the past, I did not have the smartphone, so in the class, I always believed our teachers were correct and not asked any question.

Furthermore, in the past, parents did not need to worry that the children would meet the online friends. It is dangerous that the children go to meet the online friends by themselves because we cannot really understand the people behind the internet. Take my friend's daughter Penny for example. When she was a high school student, he indulged on the internet and made many friends in the online game. And one day, she cheated on her parents that she went to meet her elementary school's classmates. But actually, she was going to meet the friends who she made on the online game. At first, her parents did not find any problem, but when her daughter did not come home after the 12 o'clock at night, my friend felt worried and called the police for help. Thankfully, they found Penny was locked in a public toilet and those "online friends" rubbed her belongings away.

Many people may argue that the different generations have different educational difficulties, so educating children is not a more difficult task than it was in the past. In other words, in the past, we still need to face other problem. However, I insist that because of the cellphone, online game and other new technologies which did not appear in the past, so the parents and the teachers are not familiar with them, causing the education to become much tougher in this generation.

In conclusion, I take the position that educating children is a more difficult task today than before because not only the children can easily challenge the teachers but also the parents need to worry more online issues than before.