Do you agree or disagree: Internet should be like other services, such as roads, and government should provide it to the public with no cost.

It is inevitable that everybody uses the internet every day and even every time. Therefore, this raises the question that should government offer the internet to the public with no cost. I take the position that the internet is the public good and definitely should be provided by the government

First, the government needs to provide the internet to the public without cost because it can benefit most people and particularly the people in disadvantaged families. To elaborate, the internet can help citizens connect with the whole world and gain the newest information. If our government can provide the internet for free, it not only can stimulate the people to learn new knowledge but also can shorten the gap of educational resource between the rich and poor. Take my friend Jimmy for example. He lived in the remote place and his family cannot support him to get the degree in the university. However, without entering the university, he used the online class resources offered by the university to self-study. Furthermore, he read the international news every day through the internet to prevent himself not disjointing with the society. By years and years of learning, he becomes a famous investor in Taiwan and told me that if he did not have the internet at that time, he might be a normal peasant for his whole life.

Furthermore, the government should provide the internet to every people with no cost because it only the government can conduct it. It is conceivable that the big cooperation will charge high to make the profit. Thus, if the government does not offer the internet for free, the citizens need to pay a lot to enjoy this convenience technology. Take my hometown Taiwan for example. In the past ten years, our government did not provide the internet because it did not consider the internet was a public good. Due to this, many companies started to offer the internet service and charge high to earn plentiful profits. Finally, our government realized that if it did not implement some policy about the internet, those companies would violent citizens right of using the internet someday.

Some people may argue that people who want to use the internet should pay by themselves because the government has it budget limit. However, I insist that the reason why government exists is that it will provide some public good that citizens all needed. And the internet is one of it. I understand that the government has it budget limit, so it can provide the basic internet to the citizens. Nevertheless, if the people who pursuing high-quality internet, then they should pay the money themselves.

In conclusion, I hold the belief that the government should provide the internet to the public with no cost because it not only can benefit most people, but also the government can conduct it. Even if the government does not have enough money to complete this policy, it at least needs to provide the basic internet to the citizens.