Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Privacy is very important for current generation and they think that an extended family can not offer them this privacy. For this very reason they support the argument that in today’s world an extended family is less important. However, I do not agree with this and strongly believe that having an extended family is more important in current times. I will support my reasons in the following paragraphs.

First of all, an extended family is very important because it lower various expenses and help saving a lot of money. For example, if a new couple plan to move out of the family, they have to buy or at least rent a new house, while their family is already living in one. Staying with family member saves a lot of money in the form of house rent and this money can be saved for future or can be invested. In the time of economic unpredictability and pandemic, it is more important than ever to have economic stability. For this reason, I think that having an extended family is more important.

Secondly, extended family, especially grandparents play a crucial role in anchoring a family. In the times of hectic schedules, odd jobs, and long office hours, having a family beside you has become more important. My own family is best example of this. My uncle and aunt were about to have a divorce because of their long office jobs and they were so tired at the end of day the they that had not enough time for each other. My grandparents made thing easy for them and did house chores so they don’t have to work again after their office time. This small effort did puts a lot of ease in their life and they are still together after many years. Because of an extended family, person or couple do not suffer alone and there are other family members to support them during their hard time. So, in my opinion extended family is more important now.

In conclusion, it is an complex issue to decide the importance of extended family in current times. Many people thinks that there should be some days for couples to just live alone. Nonetheless, I still contends that having an extended family is more important now.