Do you agree or disagree the following statement?

Forbidding sending work-related e-mails and messages on weekends and holidays is able to improve job satisfaction

An increasing number of companies are now emphasizing the importance of job satisfaction. In order to promote employees' work satisfaction, some companies consider that work-associated texts or emails on holidays are undermining employees' content for their work; whereas others affirm that it will actually improve employees’ satisfaction to their jobs. It is not reasonable, however, to polarize on either side. Depending on different types of employees, flexible policies should be drafted and enacted to cater for each.

Regarding those who are family people, who enjoy spending time with family, companies ought to institute rules that work-related messages should be banned for those workers. Family person does not expect their precious time accompanying family being disturbed. When at home during weekends or holidays, he/she think their family members deserve their wholehearted and solo attention while preparing food, having meals, watching TV, and other family activities. Yet family person especially hates those moments when notifications of work from their bosses popping up at any seconds he/she spends with his/her children, friends, or wife/husband. Take my father as an example. Two years ago, my father joyfully took my brother and me to go fishing on a weekend. Unfortunately, our experience was marred by incessant e-mails from my father's superior. We ended up watching our father replying to his boss's messages. When we were at home, our father felt so frustrated about this disappointing, dreadful experience that he told us that he would like to "fire" his boss and apply for another post.

This is by no means, however, saying that all employees are family-oriented and they should not receive work messages from employers. In reality, there are people who are so aspired and ambitious to their career that they feel they cannot afford wasting any minutes to anything not related to work. These people are normally deemed as workaholics. They are eager to exhibit the hard-working, enterprising, and perseverant aspects of themselves to their employers. Consequently, they desire to work overtime and receive instructions and notifications on holidays, attempting to complete as many projects as possible. Being productive and diligent, they have a greater chance to be noticed by employers, grasp the opportunity to engage in pivotal project, as well as climb the corporate ladder. Certainly, there should be no prejudices to them and their way of living should be equally respected. Thus, companies should be encouraged to assign works for them during holidays.

To conclude, before making a policy go into effect, companies should always consider comprehensively what the best option is for different kinds of employees. When it comes to any employees who are family people, they should be freed from working messages so as not to spoil their job satisfaction. As for those ambitious workers, job-related messages are expected by them so that they can further their career development.