Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed materials such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the Internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Conducting research, a critical learning process, has long been stressed by educators. Concerning the methods to carry out research projects, it has been an issue of debate whether utilizing printed materials is of more advantages than surfing online. From my perspective, books and articles are undoubtedly more advantageous compared to its counterpart.

To begin with, researching through printed sources causes less harm to a person's eyes. Considerable studies have revealed that radiation from digital devices can lead to serious eye issues, for example, myopia, especially when one is continuously working before the screen. Excellent research generally required a person's extensive efforts and time, which means, if they choose to sit sedentary before a computer in search of information, their eyes will suffer. I remember the last semester when I began to wear shortsighted glass due to much the undue amount of time researching online in order to finish my science research projects. In retrospect, if I had relied on the library to do my research instead of online sources, I could have had excellent eyesight as before.

Furthermore, materials from books are generally more credible than are those from the internet. One of the initial aims of the internet is to create an atmosphere where everyone can share their views freely and openly, seldom are there any restrictions. Owing to this, most content on the internet is editable to visitors, such as the famous Wikipedia. Since most information from the internet is not verifiable, individuals are susceptible to false or misleading information. Conversely, the publication of a book is normally strict. A book has to go through censorship, revising, editing, and so on to gain the opportunities to be published. A majority of publishers will only choose to publish those high quality books in order to guarantee a promising sale. Fortunately for readers, they can acquire credible information from most reference books.

To conclude, given that researching through books decreases damage to people's eyes and ensures believable sources for readers, it is reasonable to believe that printed materials are resources more preferable for research over online sources.