Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Good teachers are more important to a child s development than good parents Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

In children’s development, both teachers and parents play pivotal roles. In the school, teachers teach children professional knowledge and life skills. While at home, parents take the responsibility to educate their kids. Thus, in our society, who are more important in a child’s development is hotly debated. Were I forced to choose, I believe that a good teacher is more important. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will illustrate on in the following passages.

First, teachers are more skillful than most of parents in the field of education. They are usually well equipped with both professional skills and practical education experience. Take my sister for example, as an elementary school teacher, she not only needs to pass certain tests every year to maintain her certification but also uses her four years college to prepare the skill of education. In contrast, it’s common that parents lack specific skills or have no idea how to educate their kids unless they are excellent teachers. They may spoil their kids too much or neglect their feelings totally.

Second, after attending school, teachers are the people who will company the kids in most of the time. Even though homeschooling is popular in some places, the majority will choose to send their kids to school. School can provide kids with better study conditions like library and classroom, while teachers can teach them professional and academic knowledge that won’t be taught at home.

Admittedly, parents are still important in children’s development to some extent. They are usually the role models for the kids and will teach them important life lessons. However, in terms of depth and professionalism, they still need the help of teachers.

In conclusion, from what i have discussed above, I can safely conclude that teachers play a more important role in children’s development.