Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The invention of the Internet has had negative effects on your civilization Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion

Half a century ago, when Internet was first invented, no one could imagine the huge impact it had on our society. With the help of internet, nowadays people can access to the knowledge of the whole world and browse numerous news in just one click away. Some people are grateful for the advantages the internet brings. However, other people contend Internet has more negative effects on our civilization. Personally, I believe that Internet creates more benefits than harm for our civilization, and I feel this way for two reasons, which I will elaborate in the following passages.

First and foremost, Internet provides people a chance to access knowledge more freely than before. In the past, if we wanted to acquire information about foreign countries, we had to visit it in person, and the speed of transferring was relatively slow. In contrast, after the invention of Internet, anyone who has a smartphone or a computer has access to numerous online websites, such as Wikipedia and Google. Most of the online services and websites are free and open to anyone. My personal experience can be a compelling example to attest to this argument. When I was a kid in a small town, I didn't have many opportunities to view the outer world. When I was nine, my mom bought me a computer and taught me how to search for information online. Thus, I acquired a pressing technique that helped me to sight the world and ignored the borders of nation. Without the help of Internet, I wouldn't have had the chance to broaden my horizons.

Second, Internet also makes the world more connected than ever. For example, people are using American technology every day, watching Korean TV or wearing clothes made by Chinese. Globalization of the economy and politics is also the pressing part of a more peaceful world. Normal people are also empowered by Internet. Those people who were oppressed in the past, now have more channels to tell the world their stories. Genocide and other war crimes will be known to the world immediately and that really frightens the potential warlords.

In conclusion, based on what has been discussed above, I truly believe that Internet is beneficial for our civilization.