Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The government should spend more money on young children’s education than on university education.

Education shapes the future of a nation, and every government pays close attention to it. Education has many stages, including young children’s education and university education. These days, many believe that the government should spend more funds on the former one; however, I think this is a misunderstanding. Because these two stages of education provide us with different knowledge and skills that we will need in the future, they are equally important and they deserve equal money.

Young children’s education teaches students how to learn and what they are supposed to learn, thus, it lays ground work for students’ further education. Take myself for example. Although I have to admit that I already forgot much of what learned in primary school, skills like taking notes efficiently in classes, reviewing notes to prepare for exams, and going to library for references helped me a lot in my further study in high school and college; before we go to university, we pick our majors carefully, and I recently realized that my learning experience in primary school is a convincing reference for me to make the right choice. I clearly remembered how I hated math and loved English when I was in primary school, and that is why I would try to avoid any major that relates to math and I prefer to get involved in any career that requires English skills.

University education prepares students for the competitive job market by equipping them with knowledge and skills for both working as well as communicating. My sister here can serve as a good example. She is now a university student and she takes specialized courses in which she learns how to operate certain equipment and how to use specific software that may help her with her job hunting, and internships also help her and her classmates gain exposure to the real participations in their future careers; besides studying hard, she attends many club activities in her leisure time as well, and she admit that she ran for the president of the students’ union because she wanted to practice her public speaking skill, aiming to get some advantages when having job interviews. Only students in colleges and universities enjoy the opportunities to get involved in such a wide range of preparation for careers.

Young children’s education and university education are two necessary stages of our life-long education. They cannot replace each other and they complete each other, so it would be rigid to say that the government should spend more money on any one of them.