Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state sponsored Olympic teams Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Some people might think that art is more essential for society than sports, but I disagree with the statement that government should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

First of all, athletics are likely to attract more people than arts. For example, I am a big fan of the local soccer club. Every time I go to the soccer stadium to watch the games, more than twenty thousands of spectators get together, which is a very exciting moment. On the other hand, when I went to the museum for the Yayoi Kusama's special exibition several years ago, I was surprised by that fact that the number of visitors was less than 10. Furthermore, I watch the highlighted video of the sport game on TV everyday, while I rarely watch art related contents on TV. These examples clearly state that athletics are more widely accepted than arts.

Secondly, sports have more economic impact on society than arts because sports sports activity involves many people. When the local sport team wins the big match, a lot of retailers and manufacturers typically start the special promotions to celebrate it. In addition, athletes and their fans tend to have a big celebration parade, which is beneficial for the local and the national economy. Also, people are willing to purchase sports goods such as caps and T-shirts, which means that a lot of company such as manufactures and retailers can gain profit. This means that sports are more influencial to our society than arts from economics point of view.

Lastly, sports have power to motivates fans to do some exercises. I went to see the NYC marathon two years ago. Before then, I didn't have a habit of running. However, that experience made me to start running regularly and now, running is one of my hobbies. More citizens exercise, the more active the society becomes.