TPO53 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Some people may believe that Internet access need to be improved by the governments. However, I disagree with the statement that It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

I will describe the reasons to support my opinion below.

First of all, there are a lot of opportunities to be improved regarding the public transportation. In Japan, more than 100 people died every year due to the tragedic accident at the stations, which suggests that more secure system is required for the public transportation.

Also, crimes in the trains are also typical in Japan. Many women suffer from unknown men who touch women’s bodies while commuting, which is a serious problem in Japan. When I traveled to NY, there were so many homeless people screaming in the trains and the stations, which made me feel scrared. This unstable situation is a priority for the governments. These examples clearly suggest that there are a lot of pain points to be fixed for the public transportation.

Second, eldely people cannot live a normal life without a good quality of public transportation. For elderly generations, driving is thought to be very risky because their vision is not as good as younger generations. However, they need to go to the grocery stores, hospitals, cityhalls or other essential places. In my grandfather’s case, he returned his driver licence and uses buses to go to the destinations every day. Without public transportation, he cannot move around.This clearly shows that public transportation is must-have solution for people who are older than 70.

Certainly, some people might claim that Internet access is more essential because people get most of information throught the internet today. However, in most countries, the Internet access is operated by the companies, not governments. Therefore, even if the government use money for it, the governments’ impact on the Internet access is limited.

In summary, for the reasons I mentioned above, I strongly believe that public transportation is more critical for citizens and it is necessary to be funded by the governments.