Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is a controversial debate on the amount of money governments should spend on arts and athletics. Some groups of people hold the view that it is better support athletics. other groups have an opposite view, and feel that it is more rewarding to support arts. From my vintage point, I am more inclined with the latter option.

Firstly, governments which supports arts bring cultural heritage to its people. A heritage is the accumulation of cultural values that we inherited from our ancestors. It can be agricultural, technological, or architectural. Unlike athletics who get support from private organization, art needs the support of the government. A vivid example is the architectural inheritance of the ancient buildings and sculpture of michel angelo in Florence. Confidently, The Italian government has capitalized on these huge cultural values to make Italy one the most artistic attractive destination to visitors . As a result, tourists come to visit Italy from all over the world to enjoy arts.

Secondly, governments capitalize on art work in return for financial rewards. Capitalizing on athletics may bring some rewards, However, art support is more rewarding. Popular artistic places attract tourists from all over the world, which makes it a gold mine for governments. In other words, governments can make money from supporting art work, However, this might not be necessarily true for athletics. For instance, the government of Italy generate millions of dollars from tourists who visit Italy to enjoy it's artistic places. Thus, governments not only create a cultural attraction, but also ensure a continuous supply of money to support its projects.

Although the aforementioned reasons are first to cross my mind at a glance, they are by no means the only reasons to hold my viewpoints. In fact, There is a further subtle point which is The trustworthy, refreshingly, intelligently study which was published in the archaeology journal which showed a preference for governments to support art work. This study enrolled 120 governments from all over the world to avoid bias.

To wrap up, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes that governments should invest in arts more than athletics. If they did so, then we will a witness a whole new generation who does not only love arts, but adore it.