Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: grades encourage students to learn. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

The majority of students around the world place great emphasis on their grades. They work as hard as possible when they are at school. Some people claim that pupils working harder result from grades. As far as I am concerned, I strongly believe that teachers are able to motivate students to work hard by giving them grades as it is a way to determine students' knowledge and diligence. This essay will provide further aspects and examples to support this notion in the subsequent paragraphs.

First and foremost, students who are graded achieve more comprehensive knowledge of academic lessons. When students desire to acquire good grades, they will spend more time working on their assignments and will thus learn more information. Therefore, those students will achieve more comprehension. On the other hand, some pupils who do not have to worry about grades will not work hard and try to understand new information. I can attest this from my own experience; During my year at secondary school, I had to spend large amount of time to constantly read plenty of science articles for my final exam. According to the course syllabus, this exam accounted for forty percent of my total grade in the class, so I practiced industriously. Consequently, other than acquiring the perfect score from this exam, I broadened my scientific knowledge's horizon. If the exam had not been significant to my total grade, I would have not attended to learn this subject.

Secondly, another fact that supports my standpoint is that grades are essential for students to apply in their dream profession. Most occupations today are concerned the applications' academic grades as their grades refer to their industriousness and discipline. Therefore, students may be declined by the firm that they apply if they have a low academic grade. To illustrate this, my friend from my alma mater was denied from two architecture firms in Bangkok because he had his GPA lower than 3.00. Thus, he eventually had to work in his family business, and that was not his desired career. For this case, his low grade resulted in the professional life, and caused him never being an architect.

In conclusion, I firmly maintain the belief that grades can motivate pupils to attend to their education. This is due to the fact that majority of companies utilize grades for applying and most students will achieve more educational knowledge.