Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The invention of the Internet has had negative effects on your civilization. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

I strongly agree with the viewpoint that Internet has largely had a positive influence on the society.

Some people might argue that internet has not only compounded but peddled challenging problems like that of misinformation and lack of physical activity amongst public. However, I strongly contend that this new age of connectivity has by and large, turned out to be extremely beneficial.

I would justify the position that I have taken with the following reasons.

Firstly, it has made information more readily available at costs that are nominal. Every morning, the weather in Atlanta can be checked with a few touches on our screen, which can then be processed to inform our commute decisions. Such evidence based conclusions can be drawn without spending a dime -thanks to the weather stations that first obtain this data from a satellite and then relay this information to our devices all because of the internet. In the absence of this network , we would have gazed at the sky to formulate predictions that would have eventually gained the infamous distinction of “ dubiousness” owning to their unreliability. This is important as information can be deployed to our concern and causes to further simplify and solve them.

Secondly, the internet has played a crucial role in driving the economy. A larger economy creates more opportunities for its citizens thereby ensuring a net positive growth of the society. It has achieved this through ways like -bringing businesses closer to customers, reducing turnaround times for business processes among many others. Gone are the days of depositing a cheque and waiting for days to get it cleared. Net banking powered through this technology can complete a transaction within a blink of an eye, drastically cutting down on the total time taken for transaction completion. Similarly, e-retail stores have used this connectivity to bring their entire product catalogue to their prospect’s home without the need of buying and maintaining physical stores. Thus, E-commerce has helped increase our economic pie which in turn has contributed in the well being of the society at large.

All in all, the evaluation of internet as a positive or negative influence is a complex one. Some have suggested that the new wave of misinformation spread through internet has contributed negatively in the well being of our society. Nevertheless, I contend that the Internet’s influence is still, by and large extremely positive.