Do you agree with the statement - It’s better to be a follower than to be leader ?

Ubiquitously, the notion that being a leader is far more superior to being a follower is well-received. Proponents of this viewpoint cite the greatness and allure attached to leadership to make their case. However, in my opinion, in general, a follower is in a more advantageous position than the leader.I will explore the reasons for my position in the following essay.

First and foremost , followers tend to live a far more balanced life than those who they look up to. If you are a leader, you will constantly find yourself in an unchartered space. This area of unknown necessitates high risk taking abilities which in turn translates to a greater character required to deal with failures that would crop up every now and then. In contrast , a follower is never carrying a canary in a coal mine. It’s task is much easier in a sense that it doesn’t have to evaluate threats that the novel environment packs within. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was in university, I pounced on an opportunity to lead a team of six on a business project. The pressures of accountability along with the stress of navigating the team through unfavourable business cimate at the time, took a heavy toll on my well-being. In comparison, team members by virtue of being less accountable came out of the same period without experiencing the sam e perturbations that I felt during that time. Furthermore, they lead a more rounded life by working for fixed hours rather than spending most of their time in work-related affairs as done by leaders

Secondly, leadership involves resource management. A domain that is burdensome for most individuals. Most people don’t want to be dependent on others for their work. When employees were quizzed, majority were in favour of relying on their character and skillset to accomplish their tasks as opposed to leveraging human potential in the form of team members. They confessed that they don’t trust their members and rather find this style of working extremely inefficacious. On the contrary, subordinates are not saddled with such responsibilities. This implies that no time is spent on managing people and allocating funds granting them more time to perfect their work-products.

All in all, the argument that followers are better than leaders is a complex one with the proponets citing the exponential learning curve of the leader to bolster their argument. However, I strongly feel that being a follower allows you to maintain great work life balace.