Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ job. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since the dawn of civilization, human beings have been taking part in social activities. Hence, the fact that our career plays an important role in our life, is undeniable. This brings up a long-running debate that what career should children choose as their future jobs. A large portion of people believe that children should choose a career according to their interests instead of continuing that of their parents, but some others assert that it is the other way around. From my own perspective, the second notion is true. In what comes next, the reasons why I go for the latter notion are being elaborated.

It is a widely held axiom that human beings prosper in familiar situations and uncanny situations decrease their efficiency. To put it clearer, when children are familiar with a career, they will put their entire focus on the career problems instead of dealing with the pressure of learning new concepts. Since children has been brought up in close contact with their parents career, when they grow up, they are already familiar with the job and know the details. One of my friends, as an instance, has worked with his father since he was nine. Now, his expertise is beyond a person who is going to begin that career. In addition, days of practices has made him a successful sailor without any academic certificate. Also, he trains a lot of people who are coming to him to learn about ships and their navigation system. So, familiarity with a subject and practicing over and over will make one an expert eventually. Hence, children are better to continue their parents career which are grown up with.

Another important point that is worth mentioning is some people believe that continuing parent's career will kill children's creativity. They assert that every child has a distinct talent should be flourished. Although their claim may seem appealing at first, researches show that there are other aspects that should be considered too. According to a research, conducted by Stanford psychologists, only 6 percent of children who choose their dream career become successful. The empirical evidences show that the majority of children who learned a concept when they were a child, can not change their mind for new concepts. Hence, it is highly recommended that children should continue what their parents taught them or do what learned from them.

Considering all aforementioned reasons, we may reach the conclusion that continuing parents career is a good choice for children. However, it is hard to disguise the fact that nowadays careers are changing so fast that the those of parents may vanish but the researched show that children will be more successful if they continue their parents career or those with high similarity to their parents.