Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing things together that are related to schoolwork. Which of the two approaches do you prefer?

Since the dawn of civilization, human beings have allotted some portion of their time to their children doing diverse activities. Hence, the fact that spending time with children plays an important role in prosperity of families, is undeniable. This brings up a long-running debate that to what activities should parent allot their times when they are with their children. A large portion of people believe that spending time for helping children in their schoolworks is a more rational decision that playing with them, but some others assert that it is the other way around. In my own perspective, I think the second notion is true. In what comes next, the reason why I go for the second notion will be elaborated.

It is a widely held axiom that parents should care for their children by caring for what they like. To put is more simply, spending time with children in their favorite games and activities is the best way for parents to show their love to their children. As a result, children become more satisfied and they will put their entire focus on their other duties such as schoolwork. In accordance with a research, conducted by Stanford psychologists, students who spend their free times playing their favorite game with their parents are more likely to be happy than those who do not. Generally speaking, children who their parents allotted time for them feel their parents love and are more satisfied in their live. Hence, playing with children gives rise to their happiness and they will prosper in other aspects of their lives.

Another important point that is worth mentioning is that the positive effects of playing with children on parents can not be ignored. In is obvious that playing is a good mean for parents to establish a good rapport with their children. Hence, parents who play with their children have a sense of satisfaction with their lives. My uncle, as an example, goes to gym with his son in his free time. They spend a lot of time with each other and they both are happy. Conversely, my aunt has allotted her free time to help her children. As a result, they are like teacher and students and can not understand each other. Therefore, it is highly recommended that parents should allot time for playing with their children in order to deepen their relationship and increasing their self-esteem.

Considering all aforementioned reasons, we may reach the conclusion that parents who allot their free time to playing with children are more likely to have a high self-esteem. Moreover, care for children's favorite activities will help them to feel their parents love which results in their success indirectly.