Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

At the turn of the new century, with the mordernization of human society, world has become more competitive and demanding. Academic institutions work to infuse knowledge and principles in students by offering different subjects and help them to ride the ladder of success. Some people are of opinion that broad knowledge of many academic subjects is more important than specialization in one subject. Other's might hold a different opinion. I, personally believe that a student must have profound knowledge in as many subjects as he want. I hold this opinion for certain reasons that I will explain in subsequent paragraphs.

First point to focus upon is that, learning different subjects brodens the knowledge of students. More opportunities would be there for them and they can excel in any field. For instance, During pursuing my regular Master's degree in commerce, I also joined MBA program from IGNOU, open university to excel in my related field and to broden my knowledge. This inturn enhanced my resume and grabbed me a good job profile.

Second subtle point is that nowadays, subjects are interlinked and interconnected. A student must have overall knowledge of subjects linked to their major area. An example from personal experience when I graduate school student studying human resource as my major subject. I was suppose to study subjects such as marketing, finance, personnel management and many more. Because, connected these subjects create base for the major subject.

Lastly, studying different subjects helps to deal with day to day problems and find solutions for them. For example, if I am a art student, studying basic math and science help me to generate my household budget and help my children with their studies.

In nutshell, studying different subjects outweigh the focus on one single major subject.