Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

At the turn of the new century, with the development of human’s modern society and galloping rate of science and technology, more and more children are getting attracted to computer Games. Some people might be of the opinion that children should be allowed to play computer games. Others think that playing computer games is waste of time and children should not be allowed o play them. I, personally believe that children should focus on some more productive work instead of playing games on computer. I hold this opinion for three main reasons which I will explain in subsequent paragraphs.

First of all, Computer games played for fun leads to many serious health issues in near future. For instance, a child sitting on couch and playing computer games all day will be unhealthy as compared to the one going out and playing physical games such as football tennis, volleyball. Many researches have proved that passive activities lead to obesity. Which in turn lead to other health problems such as diabetes, poor eye sight, heart problems. So, children should be involved in activities, which provokes them to do some physical movements.

Second point to focus upon is that, just by staying at home and playing games, a child cutoff himself from the real world, that is society. He will not be able to learn the societal manners and interact with people. This will lead to introvert behaviour. Computer games take away our ability to think , children get so involved in playing games that they donot see what is going around them. Therefore, it is vital to refrain them from using computer for playing games.

Lastly, Computer games leads to addiction which inturn affects the academics of children. Children would not be able to perform better in their school. Just for example, as a child I use to play video games so desperately that I use to forget about my homework and other school stuff, that was my first priority as a student and my mother used to upbraid me badly.

In conclusion, from the above mentioned reasons and examples, I would firmly hold opinion to not to allow children to play computer games. As it leads to serious health issues and may lead to addiction if not taken care of at right time.