Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject

I agree that people must have deeper knowledge about one particular subject but at the same time, I also believe people need to have basic knowledge about other subjects as well. There is a saying "Master of all is Master of none", it is proven that a single person cannot master all skills. In my opinion, people must try to master one subject which intrigue them more and try to spend minimal time in knowing other subjects as well.

Firstly, the reason why people should have deep knowledge in one subject is they become aware of the whole ecosystem of what they are dealing with. It is essential so when an unprecendented event happen in the subject then their indepth knowledge will help them to tackle it. For example, If I'm planning for a bike ride, I should not simply take my bike and start riding. I must spend substantial time to understand the condition of my bike and question myself like how often bike has been serviced, when was the last time the oil changed, etc. This deep knowledge helps me to have better control in my trip and this principle applies to all subjects. When you have deep knowledge in your domain, you can survive however the domain changes.

Secondly, there are situations where a subject could be influenced by outside factors other than domain factors. In such situation, broader perspective will help a lot to solve the problem. As I mentioned in the previous example, I should have deep knowledge about my bike before picking it up for a ride but that alone is not enough. I should analyse the route that I'm supposed to travel, availability of stay, weather, etc. If any of the above mentioned factors takes a swirl, I could not possibly know how my ride will turn out. If I did analyse the factors, I can plan accordingly where to stay or which route is less traffic or what to do when it rains suddenly and a lot more. That is why it is significant to have broader knowledge of the related domains.

In conclusion, as stated in the example, people should focus more on their core domain and should not leave out the outside factors that influence their domain and should have basic understanding of the outside environment as well. It is safer to have deep understanding of a particular subject and broader knowledge in the relevant subjects.