Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Smartphones have caused more harm than good to our society Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

From the stone age to the digital age, human race gone through major transitions and each of them meant to advance the standard of human life. Philosphers believed that constant in progress in science and technology is the vital part of development of society and humans as whole. Smartphones are one of the evidance that witnesses the advancement in technology. Some people believes that they cause more harm to our society and some people feels the other way. Personally, I believe smartphones are not causing and it is beneficial to humans.

Firstly, smartphones are like mini computers and people can perform various tasks with the help of it. For regular people, it can assist them in mundane tasks like calculations, data collections, reminders, etc. For software engineers, they can manage their whole day with their smartphones like attending meetings, mail discussions and even they can code if they have bigger displays. And a major advantage is that you can use internet with your smartphone which makes anything possible like reading newspaper, watching movies, listening songs, etc. These are examples of how people find it useful in their daily lives.

There are other scenarios where keeping smartphone will help you to spend less efforts. For example in the education field, the way students can learn has improved a lot which means they do not need to visit the library anymore and skim through many books. All of them will be available within a few clicks in their smartphones. Also, through video lectures it will become easier for the students to consume the information more effectively then before. On the contrary side, the information available in the internet may not be legit but along with the guidance of teachers it could be possible to use to effectively.

Despite the above mentioned facts, there are undeniable realities do exist where the smartphones are not used for good purpose or unintentionally causing problems. For example, children could get smartphone addiction because of the luring entertainment which could become hard for the parents to manage. On the other hand, some people use smartphones to peek into the private life of others and using their information for lucrative purposes which is hard to manage by people. Although it has the above-mentioned problems they can be prevented by taking relevant measures.

In conclusion, it is clear that smartphones are capable of doing great things if employed properly and if not the results could turn out differently. Of course, there are good and bad in whatever we take, but we chose to be good and that why the human race has made it this far. So we should take the collective effort to get the benefits from it.