Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed materials such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Regarding the different ways to do research, I completely disagree printed materials offer a better experience than those available on the internet. I will further explain three arguments against the use of physical content.

Firstly, one of the main disadvantages of printed publications is the difficulty to find up-to-date information. The required amount of time to print and deliver articles and books usually makes it counterproductive to use in scientific research. For example, when talking about the latest innovations in vaccines for the coronavirus, printed materials fall far behind digital articles. As too many scientists are conducting investigation in the same topic, crucial data updates take place at a rapid pace.

Similarly to the previous point, books and printed articles complicates the task of finding, saving and marking textual citations. In contrast to internet based content, in these text resources the reader cannot rely on software for highlighting specific words or phrases, which could be relevant for the concerned research. To illustrate this, it is convenient to think of the lengthy encyclopedias and the broad subjects they include. Furthermore, high costs are associated to these tomes.

Another interesting perspective is the environmental impact of these resources. Climate change is fueled by the depletion of carbon reservoirs, namely trees and forests. Paper production hinges on the destruction of those two, aggravating deforestation and the carbon emissions around the globe. In addition to that, transportation related to the activities for its manufacturing also contribute to the problem.

In brief, internet based research can provide multiple advantages. Among them are the degree of accuracy of the publications, the ease of locating and organizing information, and lastly the limited impact on the environment.