Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Modern transportation and shipping has made the world a better place to live.

Use specific reasons and details to explain your opinion.

modern transportation and shipping has indeed made the world a better place to live, as I will further explain in the current essay.

Human societies saw the rising need of creating resources for subsistence and shelter. Once these conditions were successfully satisfied, trading became a key to development and a state of wellness. transportation makes both of the previous actions possible, by connecting different places and people around the world. Some centuries ago, people would starve and die of illnesses because of unknown medicines. However, with the arrival of trains, trucks, planes and other motorized vehicles, the share of products and knowledge was made exponentially easier. Nowadays we can even see multiple nations base their economies in services that depend exclusively in transportation, by the means of producing machinery, such as Germany, or enabling new routes of movement across the globe, such as Panama. The effects of these modern technologies of transportation can be seen in the drastic change of life expectancy in non-industrialized countries, their improvement in general quality of life and even in the so-called process of globalization.

In addition to the already mentioned points, cultural exchange has also been empowered by modern transportation. The amount of people travelling and moving through different continents has grown enormously, facilitating a better coexistence between different nations. Let's look at the european case; countries involved in reiterated wars are now an example of coöperation and free movement across borders. Faster and better ways of transportation have been necessary to the construction of a european identity.

In conclusion modern transportation has contributed greatly to the improvement of economies, quality of life, healthcare but has also been a fundamental part of cultural exchange and thus a more peaceful world. Although, it is convenient to start looking for more efficient solutions in this area, as climate change, which has been fueled by carbon emissions, is a big threat to the safety and maintenance of the progress made possible by modern transportation.